Oregon Nurse Aide Registry

Oregon Nurse Aide Registry
Oregon State Board of Nursing
17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road, Portland, Oregon 97224
Phone: (971) 673-0685

There are two distinct levels of certified nurse aides in the state of Oregon, known as CNA 1 and CNA 2. Each level of certification has its own separate curriculum requirements, testing methods, and job duties. The state of Oregon mandates that all CNAs must have a current, active Oregon CNA certificate in order to provide nurse aide related services. The only exception to this rule is for the person who works in a licensed nursing home and is enrolled in a nurse aide course. In this case the individual is allowed to work for four (4) months before obtaining a nurse aide certification. A CNA level 1 training course is composed of seventy-five (75) hours of classroom and seventy-five (75) hours of hands-on, clinical practice. Both lecture and practice in a CNA 1 course focus on the geriatric client needs and care. A nurse aide who holds a CNA 1 certification is not required to obtain a higher level of certification such as a CNA 2. However, if one wants to further their education, there is always the option to complete a nursing assistant level 2 training class. Only those certified as a CNA 1 may enroll in a CNA 2 course. A nursing assistant holding a nurse aide certificate from a state other than Oregon is not allowed by law to perform nursing related services in Oregon. The nurse aide must first apply for certification by endorsement to obtain an Oregon nurse aide certificate.

CNA Registries in the United States

Select an area from the map below to find addresses and phone numbers for Nurse Aide Registries in all 50 states plus the District of Columbia as well as links to online nursing assistant registries if available.

Nursing Assistant Registries

Should you know about your state's nursing assistant registry? Absolutely. A state's nurse aide registry serves important functions for any certified nursing assistant as well as for those looking to become certified. An individual who has finished a nursing assistant training program and has passed the state competency exam becomes listed on the CNA registry. Employers check the registry listings to confirm that a potential employee satisfies the training and testing requirements to obtain a nursing assistant job. To work as a certified nursing assistant, your status on the CNA registry must be active, without any charges of resident abuse, neglect, or misappropriation. It is important to update your name and address on the registry. By doing so, your information is current and you are able to receive important documents sent by the registry.

For example, renewal forms are mailed to the address you have provided to the registry. You will not receive the certification renewal forms unless your address on the registry is accurate. One of the most frequent questions we get is how to get a copy of a CNA certificate. The nurse aide registry is in charge of issuing a duplicate of your nurse aide certificate and to obtain a copy you need to contact them. A nursing assistant certificate is typically reprinted when the original has been lost, accidentally destroyed, stolen, or when the individual has changed their name. The nurse aide registry is also the entity in charge of revoking a nursing assistant's certification in cases of neglect, abuse, or misappropriation of a client's property. In such cases, an individual's name is permanently listed on the registry along with the specific findings.

Questions, Comments, Suggestions

Jennifer on September 08, 2009 at 06:11 AM
I was a CNA for 14 years. I was certified in Montana and Oregon. I let my license expire. I am now in Idaho. Do I need to retake the entire course in order to become re-certified?

Admin on September 09, 2009 at 09:23 PM
If your out-of-state nurse aide certification was active you might have been able to transfer it to Idaho. An expired or lapsed certification does not qualify for transfer. As far as I know you have to complete a nursing assistant training program and pass the competency examination in Idaho in order to become certified. It is best to contact the Idaho nurse aide registry at (800) 748-2480 or (208) 334-6620 to make sure that this information is correct. Good luck!

How do I transfer my nursing assistant certification from Oregon to New Jersey?

My friend is interested in CNA training. Is there any CNA training institute, school or college near 97223, Tigard, Oregon?

Is it possible to enroll in a CNA class without a high school diploma or GED?

How long do CNA classes take and what exactly do you have to do?

After becoming a CNA how much more experience, training or school has to be done to become a registered nurse?

CNA Resources

Being a Successful C.N.A

Besides knowledge and proficiency there are many qualities which define a competent CNA. Our list includes the answers of residents, families, and those of experienced nurse aides who have been in the health care field for an extended period of time. Most of the qualities listed below represent the reasons and motivational factors driving new individuals to become certified nurse aides.

A competent CNA shows support for others, as well as patience, compassion and empathy. To become a good nursing assistant one needs to understand the meaning of being a team player. An effective nursing assistant learns to become a good listener who cares about and understands the needs of the residents, has a helping nature and a positive attitude. Both patients and co-workers appreciate a smile, an upbeat personality, as well as someone who takes pride in their work. A nurse aide job requires good organizational skills, patience, good judgment, and effective communication.

CNA Training Programs

Nurse Aide Registries

Alaska Wyoming Oklahoma Washington DC Delaware Maryland Maryland Delaware New Jersey New Jersey Connecticut Connecticut Rhode Island Rhode Island Massachusetts Massachusetts Vermont New Hampshire Vermont New Hampshire Missouri Indiana Pennsylvania Alabama Maine New York West Virginia Wisconsin Ohio Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Louisiana Mississippi Florida Georgia Tennessee Illinois Michigan Michigan Minnesota Utah Kentucky Kansas South Dakota Arizona Idaho Washington State California Arkansas Texas Nebraska North Dakota Iowa Hawaii Nevada Oregon New Mexico Colorado Montana