How do I go about transferring my CNA certificate to Ohio?

0 votes
asked in License by anonymous
I am registered as a nurse aide in another state and have just moved to Ohio. My certification is active and in good standing. I would like to work as a nurse aide in Ohio.

1 Answer

0 votes
answered by Velma Lewis

To register as an aide in Ohio, the registry will need the following:

  • a completed Ohio Nurse Aide Registry Reciprocity Request form HEA 6907,
  • a clear photocopy of your picture identification such as your driver’s license or state-issued identification showing birth date and correct spelling of your name,
  • your current street address,
  • the name of state(s) where you are currently registered,
  • a clear photocopy of your social security card,
  • your daytime telephone number where the registry can reach you.

The Ohio Nurse Aide Registry may require work verification from your previous employer if your home registry does not record last employment or employer and will return without action all incomplete requests and requests without the required documents.

You may fax the information to 614-564-2461, e-mail to or mail to the address indicated in the application. You may contact the registry at 800-582-5908 (in-state) or 614-752-9500 (out-of-state). Please note that tampering with or attempting to falsify a government record such as a nurse aide certificate is a third degree felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

A long-term care facility is allowed to use an individual who is not listed on the Ohio Nurse Aide Registry as a nurse aide for up to four months. A facility cannot use an individual as a nurse aide for more than four months unless:

  • the individual is competent to provide nurse aide services,
  • the individual has successfully completed an approved training program and passed a required state test, or has otherwise been deemed competent by the Director of Health,
  • the facility has received verification from the Registry that the individual has met the competency requirements.

The registry starts calculating the four month period on the date the facility first uses the individual as a nurse aide, and continues to count each day consecutively regardless of whether the facility actually utilized the individual as a nurse aide on that particular day during the period of the individual’s employment as a nurse aide.